Something Based Grading

We changed up our grading structure this year. Our admin wants to move towards standards based grading, so we’re sort of supposed to be transitioning towards it a little bit this year. Sorry for all the qualifiers, but that’s how it actually is.

I’ve read enough blogs on SBG to feel like I have a vague grasp of what it should look like. Choose standards, assess & reassess on those standards, then final grades are based on the scores on those standards. Its definitely a huge change from how I’ve taught and assessed before, but I would be up for the challenge.

Except we have to use Gradebook, and we have to enter grades at least weekly and Gradebook is very much not designed for this sort of thing. Gradebook will give you a max of 9 categories, and those categories are the only way to have any weights to things.

So we have this crazy system where we have nine topics/standards and then all the assignments under that standard are coded under that standard but weighted differently according to their type (so that the whole grade doesn’t come from homework, for example). And if you feel a little fuzzy about what that looks like, my math teacher friend, consider how my freshman feel. Or their parents. Or, actually, me. I’m pretty sure that despite the weighting homework is getting way too much value. Progress reports are nearly unreadeable because the multipliers muck it up.

And about that homework…I do think some kind of practice is really helpful in math class and although I don’t care about how they do it (and have only ever graded homework for completion), they probably care that I give them credit for that. So how do I balance that with not really wanting that credit to count?

I can make some minor changes this semester, but I do get a clean slate 2nd semester. Any ideas to help me out? What are your favorite SBG [lite] resources?

Leave a Reply

