Post it Planning

This is what my desk looks like right now.

Post it plans

It makes it a little hard to work on anything but my plans for AP Review. The fact that I have a month (?!?!?!) to prep for the AP is amazing. This is my third year teaching the course and by far the most time I’ve had to review with my students. Thats great, but it means that I don’t really know what to do with it all. I have plenty of random-all-over-the-place ideas, but how to know the good ones? How to decide what order, and what gets done in class, and what homework is?

I have no idea.

But I’ll get there. I’ll shift those post its all over my desk, and pair homework (the pink ones in the bottom two rows) with classwork (the green in the top three). It will come together into a schedule, and in a perfect world, every minute of time will be used efficiently and effectively and my students will be awesomely prepared. Or at least thats the goal.

Do you ever use post-its to plan? They are probably my favorite tool–I love being able to pick things up and switch them around so easily.

2 responses to “Post it Planning

  1. kfouss

    I don’t use post-its, but I enter all of my plans in a google calendar…. you can drag things around easily just like you’d move a post-it. And then I can look back at what I did last year if I need to. Love it!

    (but I do enjoy post-its as a general rule. 🙂 )

    Kristen

    • Mary

      I use excel to plan all of my lessons, which works pretty well–it has one tab for the whole quarter where I put in objectives and assessments, and then those autoload to the daily plans. I dreamed it up with a coworker and a different (excel-talented) coworker made it happen. But to decide the overall what works where I always revert to my low-tech post it ways.

Leave a Reply

