First Day Reflections

First and foremost, ohmigod do my feet HURT. I counted three other teachers on walk back from the water fountain after school also walking around barefoot. So professional of us.

Today was crazy. The bells were all wrong, and even the right-ish ones didn’t match the clocks, so I was kind of guessing when my classes would each end (Hint: never quite when I thought).

But it was good. The residents introduced themselves in each class and tried going over part of the Do Now. It really took me back–it’s not hard for me now, or intimidating, but this was their first time in front of a class. It’s a little terrifying. This year I teach three Honors classes and one AP. Oh, and the lowest level course for juniors, which is almost half students with IEPs and no inclusion teacher. Everyone who has seen my seating chart (which was impossible to put together) has been shocked. It’s a really really tough group.

Luckily, I taught a lot of them two years ago and so they already like me/respect me. Which helps, although apparently not enough to prevent my mentee from walking out seven minutes into class. Figures.

In other news, my computer hates me, so I couldn’t project anything I planned on doing. A little stressful but I made it. And now I’m (super lame) off to bed. It’s rough, working full time.

3 responses to “First Day Reflections

  1. Wow! Sounds like a tough day indeed. I used to wear a pedometer at school, and the number of steps I took the first week of school compared with the rest of the year always astonished me.

    It sounds like you’ve got your hands full, especially with that one class. All I can say is, hang in there and make sure to prop your feet up this weekend. 🙂

    • Mary

      Thanks 🙂
      I had a pedometer but I lost it–I took 16000 on a regular day (in March) so I can’t imagine what its been the last couple days!

  2. Hurty feet – the bane of teachers (but not the ones who sit down and play solitaire on their computers all day). Two words – plantar fasciitis. I had never heard of it, but I was ready for blade replacements:-)

Leave a Reply

